Sips of the Season

This year I decided that instead of buying Christmas presents for my family, I am going to do something with/for them. I think it is more personal…

…AND I am a poor college student! 🙂

I decided to take my dad wine tasting.  This afternoon we went to the Chateau Elan Winery in north Georgia.

We had a BLAST! The tasting started with a 45 min tour of the winery.

We learned so much about the wine making process (and it is a process!) and specifically Georgia grapes.

Chateau Elan’s speciality is Muscadine Wine, made from muscadine grapes which grow well in Georgia. It has such a distinct flavor, my dad was reminded of wild grapes he used to eat growing up. I was reminded of  kids chewable grape Tylenol I used to have growing up (yum!)

Our tour guide was 78 years old and oh so knowledgeable!! Wonder how many bottles of wine he has opened in his lifetime…

Palate cleanser 🙂

They gave us chocolate as a chaser for the incredibly strong port wine!

Swirl

Sniff

Sip

This evening I took my mom for her Christmas present adventure!

We went for holiday magazines and fancy coffee drinks are the bookstore and Starbucks! We tried out the carmel brulee latte and hot chocolate. We were surprised that they actually were not too sweet. Just perfect!

We started doing some research for our Christmas meal menus. Paula Deen’s mag and Paula Deen pen from when I visited her restaurant this summer in Savannah! Im a big Paula fan but I don’t think I have ever made one of her recipes!!

After Starbucks we went driving around to see Christmas lights. We went by 2 houses in Alpharetta that have their lights set to music and you tune in through your radio! They also collect money to donate to Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta 🙂

We were blown away by the work put into these displays!!

If you are in the Atlanta area, you should definitely check them out!

Is there really only 3 days till Christmas!?!

God Bless and all the best!

Amy K.

