Pumpkin Spice is Oh So Nice!

The cold weather has finally hit Athens! There was a wee bit of frost on the ground this morning!

And thankfully I found my jacket last night. It has been MIA since last year. Where did I find it….

Coat Closet!!

Ridiculous! BUT we use it more for storage and I never put anything in there, except for my coat apparently 🙂

For my birthday my dad got me these texting gloves! The thumb and index finger are folded back and buttoned. So clever and a life saver on my runs! I use my iPhone for my music and it doesn’t work if I have a glove on. Thanks dad!!

 

As promised, I am posting my award winning recipe for:

Pumpkin Spice Almond Butter

adapted from edible perspective

  • 2 cups almonds
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1.5 tbsp molasses
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • pinch nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp oil

Heat oven to 300.

Line baking sheet with parchment paper and spread out almonds.

Mix together 2 tbsp maple syrup and 1 tbsp molasses and pour over almonds. Bake in the oven stirring occasionally. Bake for 30 mins. Keep an eye on them because they will burn QUICK!

Remove for oven and let cool for about 30 mins.

Put in food processor and blend until it starts to form butter. Add .5 tbsp molasses, 1 tbsp maple syrup, oil, and spices. Continue to blend until it reaches a good consistency, you can continue to add more oil if it gets too think.

 

What else can you do besides sandwich it between some pumpkin pancakes you may ask??

I enjoyed some on top of hot oatmeal with a maple syrup drizzle…

And melted into a baked apple 🙂

I used a melon baller to scoop a hole in a gala apple (my favorite!) and filled it with cinnamon, sugar, raisins, almond butter, and drizzled with maple agave. Baked in the oven for 30 mins and sprinkled with granola.

This is Fall in a bowl!

Now that Thanksgiving and my b-day has come and gone, I can finally get in the Christmas mood! My favorite thing about the Christmas season in Athens is the lights downtown. It feels like you are walking through Disney World!

Me and the roomies after birthday dinner downtown, Walking in a Winter Wonder Land 🙂

God Bless and all the best!

Amy K.

