Quarter of a Cent

One things I love about having a birthday around Thanksgiving is having family around and a WHOLE week home from school!

The birthday kicked off on Saturday. My mom and sister and I went to get our nails done. I chose the very appropriate “Quart of a Cent-Cherry” 🙂

This morning we went to church and came home for brunch

My mom made an AMAZING blueberry oat scone, which I crumbled on top of some greek yogurt with fruit.

My brother, Tony and I whipped up a Mushroom, Leek and Swiss Frittata

We sautéed some mushroom and leeks (chopped and frozen from TJs, Love!), added in a pinch of rosemary and sage. About a cup of swiss cheese and 9 eggs. Cooked it partially on the stove then finished it up in the oven. It was thrown together, but it was so good!!

For my birthday celebration, we had our second annual Next Family Chef competition!

It is a combination of Top Chef/ Next Food Network Star/Iron Chef. Last year mom took home the win with a Caramel Baked Brie

Everyone chooses a food group as their inspiration:

  • Mom: Dairy
  • Dad: Meat
  • Kay: Seafood
  • Tony: Fruits and veggies
  • Me: Nuts and legumes
  • Charlie: Grains

We had $10 each to go shopping with at the DeKalb Farmers Market

We cooked in two waves: Me, Charlie, and Kay in the first. Mom, Dad, and Tony in the second.

Our table scape for the tastings 🙂

Action shot!

My ingredient: Almond

Dish: Pumpkin Pancakes with Pumpkin Pie Almond Butter, and Maple Cinnamon Whipped Cream


Charlie’s ingredient: Quinoa

Dish: Quinoa with Olives, Feta and Balsamic Dressing in a Lettuce Cup


Kay’s ingredient: Lobster!!

Dish: Puff Pastry Cup with Sauteed Lobster and Brie Cheese

Dad’s ingredient: Ham

Dish: Ham with Scrambled Eggs and Tortilla Chip

Tony’s ingredient: Banana

Dish: Fried Banana with a hint of Coconut, Vanilla Ice Cream and Caramel Sauce

Mom’s ingredient: Milk

Dish: Raspberry Bavarian Cream

Pictures set up for voting. Voting categories included: taste, originality, and plating

And the winner is….

The Birthday Girl! With my trophy 🙂

I think they were nice to me on my birthday. I will post the winning recipe this week.

It was a WONDERFUL birthday and a fantastic break. Now back to Athens and back to school. 2 and half more weeks!!

God Bless and all the best!

Amy K.


