Run and Gobble

Happy Thanksgiving!!

Tuesday my dad and I went to the expo for the Atlanta Half Marathon. My brother and I signed up for the half and my parents are doing the 5K.


Afterward we were wandering around the mall were able to snap a pic with Santa!

Hahaha so sneaky! πŸ™‚

The pre race/ pre thanksgiving carbo load came in the form of pasta salad

My go to pre race breakfast, it gets me out of bed in the morning πŸ˜‰

Traffic was TERRIBLE getting to turner field for the half marathon start (it’s Atlanta after all, it should have been expected!)

My brother (who didn’t run the race, injured) dropped Erica and I off near the start because we were so late. I ran about a mile to get to the corral just as the last of my wave was taking off. I forgot my water bottle when I jumped from the car so I was dependent on water stations. My water bottle is kinda like my safety blanket, I was sad not to have it!

It was hard to get into the race because of the rocky start. After I ran my first 3 miles all around 7:30, I decided that I needed to slow down if I actually wanted to complete this race! The combination of hills, heat, and the fact that I ran 16 miles 5 days ago = I was hurting. But I enjoyed the course and finished in 1:49:40. I am very happy with that!

The Finishers! Go Mom and Dad!! 3.1!

Found the Starbucks (LOVE) and headed home for naps and cooking of Thanksgiving Dinner!

The Menu

  • Turkey two ways: fried and grilled
  • Mushroom fig dressing
  • Mash potatoes & gravy
  • Cranberry relish & the jellied version (tradition)
  • Brussels sprouts salad
  • Rolls
  • Sweet potato chips
  • Pumpkin bread pudding

I made a cheese ball for pre dinner appetizer. It’s the first one I have even made!

No surprise that pumpkin was included in this meal πŸ™‚

Table scape!

We are using the leftovers for panini sandwiches tomorrow, my favorite way to use up leftovers!

I have big plans to wake up early and work on some papers, grr grad school. Then in the afternoon…

Iron Bowl! War Eagle πŸ™‚

God Bless and all the best!

Amy K.

