Eat YOUR Veggies. If You Can.

Yesterday was exciting. I finally picked my poblano pepper 🙂

This little guy has been growing FOREVER! I was not sure when to pick him, but when he started to turn red, I thought now might be the time 😉

I have tried a poblano before… at some point….

I wasn’t really sure what it would taste like or how spicy it would be. I decided to make something for dinner that included him, my front yard sweet potatoes and some other veggies I had sitting around. 

Turns out he was VERY SPICY!!!

I roasted the veggies and threw him in with the mix but removed before I ate them. This gave a tinsy bit of spice but was still edible!

Lauren tried a bite, she usually likes spicy things. She agreed that it was more then a little intense!!

The rest of my veggies were fabulous: My sweet potato, brussel sprouts, parsnip, and zucchini roasted with a little olive oil, salt and peppa!

 

On the side I had some left over quinoa with acorn squash and cottage cheese ← This made the dish!!

Today was my 4 miler (more or less):

It has been raining all the day long and freezing! It stopped long enough for me to run 3.5 miles in 30.20 mins. I followed up with a little weight lifting, which I don’t usually do but trying to get back in the habit of!

When I got back I was in the mood for something warm and comforting, and I wanted to use up the rest of my roast veggies too.! 

Roasted Veggie Stuffing

  • One thick slice of bread (I used Great Harvest Dakota bread, highly recommend!!)
  • Roasted veggie leftovers
  • 2 tbsp cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup egg beaters or 2 eggs
  • Whatever seasoning you choose. Done! 

Preheat oven to 350. I cut the bread into cubes, sprayed with cooking spray and seasoned with Lemon Pepper seasoning. Then bake in the oven until golden and toasty! 

To my leftover veggies I also added some chopped onion and green pepper (both frozen, don’t worry about defrosting they will warm up when baked!). Mixed in cottage cheese, egg beaters, salt and pepper. Fold in the bread last and let sit for a few minuets to absorb some of the liquid. Put in an oven safe bowl and bake for about 30 minuets or until browned and firm. 

It was so filling, just what I wanted! Perfect for leftovers, you can add anything you have on hand. The bread was the best part though! The Dakota bread has some nuts and seeds in it that gave such a good flavor and texture to the stuffing 🙂

This got me so excited to Thanksgiving!!!  I can’t wait to start the search for Thanksgiving recipes!

This year my brother and I will be running the Atlanta Half Marathon Thanksgiving morning and my mom and dad are participating in the 5K!! I want to tape the Macy’s parade because I went to the store when I was in NYC this summer! It gets me so excited for the Holiday season!!

Tell me: What is your favorite thing to eat for Thanksgiving, or what exciting plans do you have for Thanksgiving this year?

God Bless and all the best!

Amy K.

