The Things We Do for a Test

Because of upcoming tests I have:

  1. Sacrificed social events
  2. NOT watched football games, or at least had them on mute πŸ˜‰
  3. I have spent countless hours at coffee shops in my own little study bubble. Going inside when it is bright and sunny and coming out to torrential downpours

I mention this because on Meghann’s blog today she talked about how races are on Sunday and most people are back in the office working on the Monday after a marathon.

My journey back from the 2006 Chicago Marathon was an epic adventure that just shows what an ambitious college student will do for a test.

After finishing the race, I met my parents at the art museum by the finish line.

Me and my training buddy Brendan with our parents!

I then jumped into the car and they drove me right to the airport. I changed out of my marathon clothes in the airport bathroom. My parents were driving back to GA so I was flying solo. I then jumped on the plane, a mere 2 hours after completing the marathon and flew back to Atlanta. I then got in the car and drove the 2 hours it takes to get to Auburn University!

At the time, I didn’t really think anything of it. I can’t remember what the test was or which class I was taking. But looking back at that journey, I better have gotten an A!!!!

The Disney Marathon falls on a Sunday as well. New this year, they are giving a free park pass to marathon runners to come back on Monday. My internship is suppose to start that Monday, Im going to see if Β can do a little negotiating πŸ˜‰

Did I mention that I GOT the INTERNSHIP at Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta?!?! I will be working with the Childhood Wellness Program. Woo Hoo!!! Im super pumped!

I mixed things up today on my 4 miler:

  • Distance: 4.40
  • Duration: 38.18
  • Pace: 8:31

I decided to run the neighborhoods around my house. Not only are the house too cute but I got to run on the street and not sidewalk (almost no cars) AND not breathe in all of the car exhaust. I WILL be doing this more πŸ™‚

I have been looking for something to make as a “thank you” for a friend. I came across this recipe on Angela’s blog and knew that it was getting the call!

Apple Streusel Cake in a Jar

adapted from Oh She Glows

Makes 4 cakes

  • 1/2 cup + 1 tbsp of AP flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree (its finds its way in everything!)
  • 1 apple peeled and chopped
  • 1/4 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1 tbsp oil (I used canola)
  • 1/2 cup pecans
  • Streusel topping: 1 tbsp flour, 2 tbs turbinado sugar, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1 tbs butter

Preheat oven to 350. Sterilize 4 mason jars. In a large bowl mix together dry ingredients. Β In a medium size bowl, mix together wet ingredients. Add wet to dry, mix well and then stir in apples. Mix together streusel topping and get ready to assemble! First spoon 3 tbsp cake batter into jars. Then top with 1/2 tbsp of streusel topping and some of the nuts. Then spoon another 2 tbs of batter and top with more streusel and nuts. Fill all of the jars. Place on a baking sheet and bake for about 20-25 mins or until cake bounces back when touched.

I made a small one for quality control πŸ˜‰

These are seriously delicious!!!

They are AMAZING when still hot from the oven, so I baked one and brought the other two over uncooked. Just pop in the oven for 20-25 mins πŸ™‚

A special shout out to my precious puppy back home in Roswell, ABBY πŸ™‚

She is recovering quite well from surgery this morning. She had a tumor removed from her paw. Looking pretty good at 16 years old!!!! Can’t wait to see you this weekend!

God Bless and all the best!

Amy K.

