Panna Cotta Brulee

Tonight is the season finale of Project Runway! This will be the first episode I am watching live. Thank you hulu, I don’t know what I would do with out you πŸ˜‰

Creme brulee is one of my favorite desserts. Back in the undergrad days at Auburn, I had a Project Runway finale party with creme brulee. It’s so elegant and sweet. LOVE it…BUT it can be a tad on the heavy side!

I wanted to lighten and recreate this dessert for tonight’s finale

Yogurt Panna Cotta Brulee

Adapted from Joylicious

  • 1 1/2 tsp unflavored gelatin
  • 1 tbs water
  • 2 cups of fat free milk
  • 1 tbs lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup sugar plus 4 tsp
  • 1 cup nonfat greek yogurt

Place gelatin and water in bowl and allow to sit for 5 mins.

Combine 1 cup of milk and 1/3 cup of sugar to a small pan, heat on the stove until sugar is dissolved. Β Stir warm milk into gelatin.

Whisk in the second cup of milk with lemon juice. Whisk whisk whisk until smooth πŸ˜‰

Pour into cups and put in the fridge to firm up, about 3 hours.Β 

Now for the brulee part…

I do not have a torch, so I got a little creative in the oven.

Turn on the broiler. Pour tps of sugar onto a silicone mat and spread out to about the size of your cup. Place under the broiler.

Remove when sugar has melted and just a tinsy bit browned. Do not touch until cooled it will be HOTT!

It gave the panna cotta a fabulous crunchy shell, mmmmm πŸ˜‰

Awesome finale, now I have to wait patiently for Top Chef All Stars to start in December!

I made some more changes to the training schedule. Some friends and I decided to go hiking in North Georgia on Sunday. They are looking at a pretty intense trail. I decided to move my long run to Friday so I will have a little recovery time before attacking the Appalachian mountains!

Todays run was a 5 miler:

  • Distance: 5.10
  • Duration: 44:18
  • Pace: 8:41

I enjoyed the sunshine after the floods that passed through Athens yesterday.

Tomorrow TJs opens in Athens, Im going to be dreaming tonight of peanut flour, almond milk, coffee samples, and 2 buck chuck πŸ™‚

God Bless and all the best!

Amy K.

