Perk You Up: Pumpkin Granola Bites

Today was a rainy, stormy day. The kind where all you want to do is curl up in comfy clothes with coffee and netflix 😉

Unfortunately, I found my self battling the downpour hauling my overstuffed book bag to and from class. Only a few more weeks and this will all be over!

Whenever it is rainy outside I always feel like baking. I was struggling to stay awake in classes today so I knew that I wanted something with a little pick me up. And because it is the season of pumpkin spice I created…

Perk Me Up Pumpkin Granola Bites

adapted from: Brown Eyed Baker

  • 3 1/2 cups oats (I used 2 1/2 cups oats, 1 cup puffed millet)
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 chopped nuts (I used walnuts)
  • 2 tsp instant coffee combined with 1 tsp sugar (I used some of my Starbucks Cinnamon VIA)

Preheat oven to 350 and line 8×8 pan with parchment (this makes removing the granola and clean up SO easy!)


Combine first 5 ingredients in large bowl. On the stove, combine the rest of the ingredients (minus the nuts and coffee!), whisk and heat up do not let boil.

Pour over the dry ingredients. Stir in the nuts and spoon into lined pan. Pat down and then sprinkle with the coffee sugar mixture.

Bake for 35 to 40 minuets until golden brown. Remove from the pan and let cool completely before cutting.

I cut mine into 1 inch bite size piece. A lovely sweet snack with a little pick me up, without threatening your night sleep 🙂

It was so rainy today that I found myself on the treadmill at Ramsey Student Center. I was desperate to get a run in and I stuck it out for 4 miles! Thank goodness they have TVs on the treadmill to keep my mind occupied.

Recovery is kinda slow from the half. Monday I took the day off, I don’t know why I had scheduled a 4 miler the day after the race. I did 4 on Tuesday and today. Tomorrow I plan on doing 7 and 13 on Saturday.

Lauren is running a half this weekend in Greenville, SC. Good Luck Lauren!!! 🙂

Trader Joe’s opens in Athens on Friday at 8:00 am, you know I will be there! So long bank account, TJs is coming to town!

God Bless and all the best!

Amy K.

