Long Run ONE!

I am coming to the end of my first week of training for the Disney Marathon!

My roommate Lauren and I thought that the best way to distract us from our last semester of grad school is to devote endless hours and miles to training for the most magical marathon around!!

We are using Hal Higdon’s 16 week marathon schedule. I used it when I was training for my first marathon – Chicago 2007. I made a few modifications to combine the beginner and intermediate plans. I have done one marathon and a few halfs so I don’t consider myself a beginner, however I don’t know that I am ready to take on the title of “Intermediate”.

Here is my schedule:

As you can see I have planned a few other events for this semester…so long GPA! But Athens is having its first half marathon ever (have to participate) and what better way to earn your turkey on Thanksgiving then running 13.1 miles?!
Back to today:
Lauren and I woke up ambitiously early to put in our first 6 mile long run. Beautiful morning along Milledge Avenue, breathing in the commuters exhaust…alright so we will need to find a new place to run!
Then on to a full day of studying, I do want to graduate at some point. I packed my bags and headed to Starbucks for the seasons first PUMPKIN SPICE LATTE!! The best post race treat!

I followed up with a hummus wrap and my absolute favorite thing…greek yogurt! I sprinkled on some homemade granola (still perfecting the recipe, stay tuned).

Then I sat back, opened my health policy book, and enjoyed the beautiful day. The best part is, I don’t have to worry about when I’m going to fit in a run later. What a great day!

God Bless and all the very best!

Amy K.

